Art I’m Donating to Children’s Art Auction at BEA

I made this picture for my newest Otis book, Otis and the Puppy. At the end of the book making process, we (my editor, art director and I) decided not to use it. We liked the painting but we wanted to end the book with a bright, daytime scene.
aa3Below is the original sketch for the picture. My sketches are very small. Keeping them small helps keep the overall design of the image simple, very little detail.

I never really finished this painting so before shipping it to the folks at the auction, I needed to  touch it up , some noodling to make Otis pop, with brighter reds, and highlights in the eyes to make them come to life.

aa5

a little more detail on the puppy…

aa6

aa8

Here is the final art in my studio before sending it off!
bb107kb

For information about this auction, go to http://abffesilentauction.wordpress.com/. http://www.bookexpoamerica.com/Home/?campaignid=61753163&iusercampaignid=75739537

Thanks for taking a look!
LL

Leave a Reply

